Aro Dictionary

The five elements – earth, water, fire, air and space – can be understood on many levels. For beginning Aro students, the relevant understanding is the transformation of the five elemental neuroses (territoriality, aggression, neediness, anxiety, and depression) into the five elemental wisdoms (generosity, clarity, compassionate appreciation, accomplishment, and unboundedness).
Read more about: elements
An empowerment is a structured occasion on which a Lama gives transmission of Vajrayana practice. It may be described as a ‘ceremony’ or ‘ritual’ – but those terms suggest rote performance. To be effective, an empowerment must be ecstatically involving. ‘Symbolic enactment of transmission’ is a more accurate definition.
The equivalent Tibetan term is wang. It is spelled dBang.
The equivalent Sanskrit term is abhisheka.
Read more about: empowerment
The tendency of things to lack characteristics or distinct existence. Insubstantiality, transience, indistinctness, discontinuity, and undefinedness. From the Dzogchen perspective, emptiness is always only relative, due to the non-duality of form and emptiness. Emptiness is perceived directly in the practice of shi-nè.
Read more about: emptiness